Fellowship and Award Possibilities

NMSU Astronomy has several fellowships and awards for graduate students and early career researchers:

  • The Clyde Tombaugh Fellowship is a distinguished position for postdoctoral researchers. It honors Clyde Tombaugh, discoverer of Pluto and one of the founding members of the NMSU Department of Astronomy
  • The Webber Graduate Fellowship honors top incoming graduate students with a significant cash award.
  • We also give out several graduate-student awards. The Zia, Pegasus, and Murrell awards recognize research, teaching, and overall outstanding accomplishments and are awarded each year. The Rappaport award acknowledges outstanding public service by one of our graduate students and is awarded bi-annually.

To donate to any of these programs, or to create a new one, please see our donations information.